Who won the Nobel Peace Prize 2018, who won in past years and what did Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad do?

Who won the Nobel Peace Prize 2018, who won in past years and what did Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad do?

December 10, 2018

The award is one of five – including Chemistry, Literature, Physics and Medicine – set up by Swedish industrialist, inventor and armaments manufacturer Alfred Nobel.

Who won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2018?

Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad have won the 2018 Nobel peace prize.

They were recognised for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon in war.

The committee said Congolese doctor Denis Mukwege had been “the foremost, most unifying symbol both nationally and internationally of the struggle to end sexual violence in war and armed conflict”.

Nadia Murad of the Yazidi minority in Iraq was captured by Isis, raped and subjected to other abuses. The committee said she showed “uncounted courage in recounting her own suffering”.

The winners are receiving their award today, December 10 in Oslo, Norway.

Who was is in the running to win it?

Trump was second favourite to win the award at 5-2 following his historic handshake with the North Korean leader Kim Jong-un.

Jong-un was fancied at 4/6 to take the prize, sharing it with South Korean leader Moon Jae-in.

Others in the running for the prestigious peace prize included the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) at 16/1, Catalan politician Carles Puigdemont at 16/1, Angela Merkel at 9/4 and Pope Francis, also at 50/1.

Vladimir Putin would have landed you with 50/1 with Ladbrokes.

Ladbrokes odds for 2018 were as follows:

  • Donald Trump – 5-2
  • Kim Jong-un + Moon Jae-in – 4-6
  • UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) – 16/1
  • Carles Puigdemont – 16/1
  • Angela Merkel – 9/4
  • Pope Francis – 50/1
  • Vladimir Putin – 50/1
  • Edward Snowden – 25/1
  • Jeremy Corbyn – 100/1
  • Theresa May – 100/1
Germany's Angela Merkel was up for the Peace Prize as well as Donald Trump

What is the Nobel Peace Prize?

According to Nobel's will, the Peace Prize should be awarded to the person who "shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses".

Nobel, who died in 1896, never said why he chose peace as a category, but it is believed he was trying to compensate for his arms manufacture past.

The Nobel laureate receives a diploma, a medal, and about $1.5million.

This year's winner will be presented with the award in Oslo, Norway, in December.

It was given to the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons in 2017.


Who has won the Nobel Peace Prize?

The last 10 winners are:

2017: International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (Switzerland)

2016: Juan Manuel Santos (Colombia)

2015: The National Dialogue Quartet (Tunisia)

2014: Kailash Satyarthi (India) and Malala Yousafzai (Pakistan)

2013: The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)

2012: The European Union (EU)

2011: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee (Liberia), Tawakkul Karman (Yemen)

2010: Liu Xiaobo (China)

2009: Barack Obama (US)

2008: Martti Ahtisaari (Finland)

Source: Read Full Article