What states in the US observe Daylight Savings time?

What states in the US observe Daylight Savings time?

October 30, 2021

DAYLIGHT Saving Time happens twice a year and is a sign of the changing seasons.

In the spring, we change the clocks forward so that darkness falls at a later clock time and in the fall, we change it back.

Do all US states follow DST?

From 1945 to 1966, there was no federal law which required states to follow DST so many opted out.

The state's decisions then caused mass confusion prompting former President Richard Nixon to sign into law the Emergency Daylight Time Energy Conservation Act in 1974, prior to his resignation.

As of 2021, there are only two states that don't observe DST including Hawaii and Arizona.

There are also multiple US territories that don't observe it including:

  • American Samoa
  • Guam
  • The Northern Mariana Islands
  • Puerto Rico
  • The US Virgin Island

Who invented Daylight Saving Time?

DST was first introduced by Benjamin Franklin in his essay "An Economical Project for Diminishing the Cost of Light", which was published in the Journal de Paris in 1784.

Despite introducing it in 1784, Franklin's idea was forgotten about until William Willett wrote the pamphlet, "The Waste of Daylight."

Willett's pamphlet caused British Summer Time to be introduced by the Parliament in 1916 and then, two years later, the House of Representatives voted 252 to 40 to pass a law "to save daylight," marking the official first daylight saving time on March 15, 1918.

This was initially met with much resistance, according Michael Downing, author of the book "Spring Forward: The Annual Madness of Daylight Saving Time," but has since become a custom.

When does the time change?

Daylight Saving Time always begins on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.

To remember which way to set their clocks many individuals often use the expression, spring forward or fall back.

Daylight Saving Time begins on Sunday, March 14, 2021 at 2:00 A.M.

Daylight Saving Time ends on Sunday, November 7, 2021, at 2:00 A.M

Traditionally, given the season folks will turn their clocks back for forward on Saturday night.

We pay for your stories!

Do you have a story for The US Sun team?

Email us at [email protected] or call 212 416 4552.

Like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/TheSunUS and follow us from our main Twitter account at @TheSunUS

    Source: Read Full Article