Boris Johnson suffers more resignations than any PM in 90 years – full list of MPs & aides who have quit | The Sun

Boris Johnson suffers more resignations than any PM in 90 years – full list of MPs & aides who have quit | The Sun

July 6, 2022

BORIS Johnson today suffered the highest number of government resignations of any Prime Minister in 90 years.

In a brutal 30 hour period 30 government members stood down from their post.

It's the highest number of any government since 1932.

The tidal wave of resignations has been described as a Westminster bloodbath.

Sajid Javid kicked off the coup at 6.02pm Tuesday night.

In a bombshell letter, the former Health Secretary told the PM he no longer believes government is competent or acting in the public’s best interest.

He said: "The country needs a strong and principled Conservative Party, and the Party is bigger than any one individual.

"I served you loyally and as a friend, but we all serve the country first. When made to choose between those loyalties there can only be one answer."

Javid was followed just minutes later by Tory leadership contender Rishi Sunak.


Major backbench MPs meeting TONIGHT to oust the PM – but he may quit first

Defiant Boris Johnson vows to ‘keep going’ as Sajid Javid blasts: ‘Enough’

In a blistering attack the former Chancellor said: “The public rightly expect government to be conducted properly, competently and seriously.

“I recognise this may be my last ministerial job, but I believe these standards are worth fighting for and that is why I am resigning.”

Javid and Sunak’s moves away from government were not coordinated.

But they triggered an onslaught of resignations from the lower two rungs of government.

Tory MPs are now united in believing the PM cannot go on any longer.

Since Javid the following MPs have resigned:


Andrew Murrison – Former trade envoy to Morocco Andrew Murrison stood down at 7pm.

Bim Afolami –Tory Party Vice Chair Bim Afolami resigned at 7.28pm.

Jonathan Gullis –Norther Ireland PPS and former ultra-loyalist to the PM Jonathan Gullis resigned at 7.48pm.

Saqib Bhatti – PPS to Mr Javid Saqib Bhatti followed his boss out the door at 7.51pm.

Nicola Richards – Transport PPS Nicola Richards resigned at 8.27pm.

Virginia Crosbie – Wales PPS Virginia Crosby said bye bye to BoJo at 8.55pm. 

Theo Clarke – The trade envoy to Kenya resigned at 8.01pm.

Alex Chalk – Solicitor General and long-time waverer Alex Chalk stepped down at 10.51pm. He was the last of Tuesday night’s tidal wave of resignations.

Most read in The Sun


Love Island recoupling drama TONIGHT as stars are forced to choose partners


Love Island fans beg bosses to step in as Jacques shows 'red flags'


Geordie Shore star expecting their first baby and jokes 'it's time to grow up'


Rishi Sunak and Sajid Javid RESIGN from the Cabinet


Laura Trott – Tory rising star and Transport PPS Laura Trott kicked off today’s resignation marathon at 8.07am.

Will Quince – Children’s minister Will Quince followed Ms Trott with a letter sent off at 8.25am.

Robin Walker – Education minister Robin Walker quit government at 9.43am. 

Felicity Buchan – Business PPS Felicity Buchan resigned at 11.05am.

John Glen – Treasury Minister John Glen resigned at 11.06am.

Vicky Atkins – Home Office Minister Victoria Atkins posted her resignation letter at 11.32am. 

Jo Churchill – Environment Minister resigned just after noon.

Stewart Andrew – resigned as a Housing Minister.

Claire Coutinho – Resigned as a ministerial aide at the Treasury

Selaine Saxby – Resigned as a ministerial aide at the Treasury

David Johnston – Quit as a parliamentary private secretary to the Education Department.

Mims Davies – Quit as employment minister at 2.26pm.

Neil O'BrienAlex BurghartKemi Badenoch, Lee Rowley and Julia Lopez – All ministers walked out at 2.30 in a coordinated letter with four other colleagues.

Craig Williams – Treasury PPS Craig Williams resigned at just before 3.30pm

Mark Logan – Quit as a parliamentary private secretary at 3.35.

Rachel Maclean – Quit as safeguarding minister at 3.45.

Mike Freer – Chucked in the towel as Equalities Minister at 4pm.

    Source: Read Full Article