British Soap Awards fans beg for Jane McDonald ‘every year’ after Schofield exit

British Soap Awards fans beg for Jane McDonald ‘every year’ after Schofield exit

June 6, 2023
  • Bookmark
  • Sign up for the Daily Star TV newsletter for the biggest TV news

    We have more newsletters

    The British Soap Awards returned to screens on Tuesday (June 6) and for the first time since 2006, it wasn't Phillip Schofield who presented the glittering event.

    After the presenter, 61, admitted he had an affair with a young male colleague who worked at ITV, he parted ways with the broadcaster for good.

    In light of the scandal, it was Loose Women legend and super soap fan Jane McDonald who snapped up the role of presenting the star-studded awards.

    READ MORE: This Morning star shares chaotic British Soap Awards journey as taxi engine 'explodes'

    As Jane, 60, took to the stage for the first time, fans all had the same request, insisting she should be made the permanent host of the annual event.

    One fan shared: "Can we have Jane McDonald every year, please? #soapawards".

    "Do not miss tonight’s #soapawards such a good show and wish they’d got us Jane McDonald years ago she was BRILLIANT!!" added a second viewer.

    Another person wrote: "I know its only just started but Jane McDonald is a fabulous host!!! 🙂 #SoapAwards."

    While a fourth echoed: "Loving Jane nice and refreshing #soapawards."

    Taking to Instagram after it was announced that Jane would be hosting, the singer branded it "a dream come true".

    She penned: "Everyone knows how much I LOVE my soaps, this year I’ve been honoured to be mentioned in Corrie, EastEnders and Emmerdale so this is just a dream come true."

    She added: "I can't wait to see all our wonderful soap nominees and celebrate all their hard work with them – roll on the awards, I can't wait!"

    Coronation Street triumphed at the awards, with the cast and crew walking away from the event with six gongs under their belt.

    The ITV programme won the award for Best Single Episode, Scene of the Year, Best Dramatic Performance, Best Comedy Performer, Best Newcomer and Best Family.

    The acid attack storyline involving Daisy Midgeley (Charlotte Jordan), Ryan Connor (Ryan Prescott) and Justin Rutherford (Andrew Still) won two awards.

    For the latest breaking news and stories from across the globe from the Daily Star, sign up for our newsletter by clicking here.

    • ITV
    • Phillip Schofield

    Source: Read Full Article