Who has won the most FIFA World Cups? Full list of past winners | The Sun

Who has won the most FIFA World Cups? Full list of past winners | The Sun

December 5, 2022

EVERY football player dreams of lifting the World Cup trophy and earning his country the honourary title of the best in the world.

England only had the luck of winning it once so far but which team has won it most times?

Who has won the most World Cups?

Brazil are the team that won lifted the World Cup trophy the most – clinching the title five times.

Their first World Cup win was in 1958 when Sweden hosted the tournament and even reached the final.

Two goals from Vava, another two from the legendary Pele and one from Zagallo saw the country finally win their first World Cup title.

In 1962, Brazil would go on to repeat history once again in Chile, this time against Czechoslovakia.

Read More on the FIFA World Cup

Watch Bellingham’s reaction as fan tells him to complete Real transfer

Ex-Brazil star looks unrecognisable with new hairstyle and goatee

Pele didn't make part of the starting 11 for this final after he was ruled out with an injury he sustained in the second match of the tournament.

Masopust put Czechoslovakia in the lead in the 15th minute, however, that didn't last long.

The Brazilians hit back two minutes later with a goal from Amarildo while Zito and Vava went on to extend the advantage during the second half.

Mexico 1970 – considered one of the best campaigns held – saw a strong Brazilian side which featured Pele again and trashed Italy 4-1 in the final.

Most read in Football


Raheem Sterling's home broken into forcing him to race home from World Cup


Sterling’s family inside home when armed thugs broke in & stole £300k


England's best and worst routes to final with Mbappe, Messi & Ronaldo waiting


Reaction as Three Lions cruise into World Cup quarter-final vs France

Pele opened the score and Gerson, Jairzinho and Carlos Alberto followed to make it three titles for their country.

Brazil had to wait quite sometime before they won another title.

Pele's era was gone now and Brazil had a new set of talent which took on Italy once again in the final in 1994.

This time it proved to be more difficult against Italy which had legendary players such as Paolo Maldini and Roberto Baggio in the team.

However, Brazil held on to penalties and won 3-2 to make it four World Cups.

Their last title came in 2002 when it was held in Korea and Japan.

Brazil had many footballing stars lining up for them such as the famous Ronaldo with his iconic haircut, Rivaldo, Ronaldinho, Cafu and the list goes on.

They faced a strong German side, however, not strong enough to stop Ronaldo from scoring two goals and winning Brazil their fifth World Cup title.

Who has won the World cup?

There are eight different countries that have won the World Cup since the first tournament in 1930.

Read More on The Sun

Millions of parents to get a pay rise next year – check how much you’ll get

People are just noticing Ring doorbell trick to avoid major embarrassment

These are the countries that won the World Cup:

  • Brazil (2002, 1994, 1970,1962,1958)
  • Germany (2014, 1990, 1974,1954)
  • Italy (2006, 1982, 1938, 1934)
  • France (2018,1998)
  • Argentina (1986, 1978)
  • Uruguay (1950, 1930)
  • Spain (2010)
  • England (1966)

Source: Read Full Article