Dublin scoop record haul at ladies football All-Stars

Dublin scoop record haul at ladies football All-Stars

December 2, 2018

All-Ireland senior champions Dublin have been honoured with seven representatives on the 2018 TG4 All-Star team.

Dublin’s haul is an all-time best on an All-Star team selection – as the 2010 and 2016 selections each contained six Sky Blues.

The selection was revealed on Saturday night at the annual TG4 All-Star awards banquet, in association with Lidl, at the Citywest Hotel.

Captain Sinéad Aherne received a seventh All-Star award, and her third in a row, along with the Players’ Player of the Year crown.

There was a sixth award in seven years for right-half-back Sinéad Goldrick, who will line out for Foxrock-Cabinteely in next Saturday’s All-Ireland Senior Club final against Mourneabbey.

The Cork club have the O’Sullivan sisters – county captain Ciara and Doireann – included on the 2018 TG4 All-Star selection.

It is the second year in a row that a set of sisters has been named on the All-Star selection, as the Hegartys from Donegal, Ciara and Niamh, were listed on the 2017 team.

Aherne and Goldrick are joined on the 2018 list by Dublin team-mates Ciara Trant, Siobhán McGrath, Lauren Magee, Noelle Healy and Lyndsey Davey.

Trant wins an All-Star for a second successive year, while McGrath picks up her first gong since 2010.

Midfielder Magee is one of five first-time recipients, 2017 Senior Players’ Player of the Year Healy wins her fourth All-Star award, and a third in a row, while Davey is also honoured for the fourth time.

Trant, Healy, Aherne and Cork’s Emma Spillane are the only survivors from the 2017 selection, as TG4 All-Ireland finalists Cork picked up four awards in total.

Ciara, now a four-time winner, and Doireann O’Sullivan, who collected her first, are joined on the team by Spillane and another first-time recipient, Róisín Phelan, who is named at full-back.

Spillane received an award at right-corner-back in 2017 but this time she earns the left-half-back slot.

The remainder of the team is made up of players from Donegal, Galway, Kerry and Tyrone.

Donegal’s Treasa Doherty earns her first All-Star at right-corner-back, while Sinéad Burke from Galway is also named for the first time on an All-Star team at left-corner-back.

Tyrone’s 2018 TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate Championship winning captain Neamh Woods collects her second All-Star award, and first since 2008, at midfield.

And there is a third award for Kerry sharpshooter and captain Sarah Houlihan, who was last honoured in 2013.

2018 TG4 Ladies Football All-Star team:

1. Ciara Trant (Dublin) – 2nd award

2. Treasa Doherty (Donegal) – 1st award

3. Róisín Phelan (Cork) – 1st award

4. Sinéad Burke (Galway) – 1st award

5. Sinéad Goldrick (Dublin) – 6th award

6. Siobhán McGrath (Dublin) – 3rd award

7. Emma Spillane (Cork) – 2nd award

8. Neamh Woods (Tyrone) – 2nd award

9. Lauren Magee (Dublin) – 1st award

10. Ciara O’Sullivan (Cork) – 4th award

11. Noelle Healy (Dublin) – 4th award

12. Lyndsey Davey (Dublin) – 4th award

13. Sinéad Aherne (Dublin) – 7th award

14. Doireann O’Sullivan (Cork) – 1st award

15. Sarah Houlihan (Kerry) – 3rd award

County by county breakdown:

7 Dublin, 4 Cork, 1 Donegal, 1 Galway, 1 Kerry, 1 Tyrone.

Make sure to keep up with all the latest GAA news and analysis via skysports.com, the Sky Sports mobile app and @SkySportsGAA on Twitter.

The Sky Sports mobile app will keep you up to date with the latest news from Gaelic games – here’s how to receive the alerts you want.

Source: Read Full Article