I used to live on 19p Lidl pasta, now I rake in six figures selling second-hand clothes from my sun-lounger in Bali | The Sun

I used to live on 19p Lidl pasta, now I rake in six figures selling second-hand clothes from my sun-lounger in Bali | The Sun

July 21, 2022

A TRAINEE lawyer has told how she quit her office job to have the ultimate work from home job – and has set up a chain of online second hand clothes stores from a sun lounger in Bali.

Hollie Marie, 25, originally from London, had planned to go to Bali with her friend for a month, but decided to stay when she realised she could successfully work remotely with her online businesses, and didn't have to go back to a commute and office job.

She first set up an eBay store and a Depop store to sell her unwanted clothes while studying for a masters in Law.

But after graduating, she realised she could make a living running a string of online Depop stores, and jacked in her training contract.

The young entrepreneur has now been living in Bali for just under two years with boyfriend Callum James, 23, who she met through mutual friends in Bali, and their two rescue dogs in a four bedroom villa with their own pool.

Growing up in Spain, and returning to the UK for secondary school and university, Hollie knew she was destined to live somewhere tropical, and Bali is the place she now calls home.


I bought an Amazon returns pallet worth £1,800 for £333 but I felt SO ripped off

I tried to buy pram on Facebook- the seller sent most savage reply, I’m in shock

Hollie explains: "I run multiple Depop shops from the UK, I’ve been using reselling platforms for nearly 10 years and it didn’t take long for me to monetise them.

"I started off by just selling my old clothes as I had a whole body transformation and lost four stone, and had loads of clothes to get rid of and then started buying clothes at car boots and selling them online. I managed to capitalise on Depop and was earning up to £4000 a month.

"I had a job in investments and was about to start my training as I had graduated with a law degree and masters, but quit to focus on my Depop business instead.

"I found being in an office boring and knew I wanted to do something a lot more freeing. My Depop businesses was a lot more fun and took off so quickly too.

"I then went to visit my friend in Dubai during covid and got stuck there. I was able to work from Dubai online and then we weren't able to travel back to the UK because we were in the red zone, we decided we would take a month long trip to Bali.

"We just never left Bali, and I now live here with my boyfriend and our dogs, working remotely.

Most read in Fabulous


Dad creates epic water slide for his kids in garden out of old decking


Stacey turns her pool into ‘village lido’ inviting local kids to play


I’m a hot gran at 37 after my daughter fell pregnant at 14 – she took baby to prom

(play)suits you

I’m plus size and have found the perfect playsuit from Asda for just £10

"I have a number of different Depop shops, as well as an automotive software for Depop, and I also create Bali tour guides for people to buy who are visiting the island.

"I built my businesses up so much that all I do now is just oversee them all, I have a lot of people who work for me in the UK, which means I can live out here and enjoy my life and work remotely, I just make sure everything is running smoothly.

"I am so grateful for my life, I have worked hard and living here is just magical.

"It’s such a shame that office life is the social norm, there is so much more to life and you can travel and make money.

"I was a broke student and I realised I could make money online and I feel so lucky I have left my mouldy five bed student house for this."

She added that she’s come a long way from “living off Lidl 19p pasta.”

FABULOUS BINGO: Get a £20 bonus & 30 free spins when you spend £10 today

Hollie had built up a number of successful businesses at such a young age, meaning she is able to relax and enjoy her life in Bali whilst overseeing her businesses in the UK and enjoying her 20's.

Focusing on her social media with her spare time, Hollie creates Bali content, giving tips and ideas for tourists wanting to visit the tropical island, as well as highlighting do's and don'ts when visiting.

Hollie adds: "I came to Bali when I was 18 and when I returned again I just loved it. There is such a rich culture, the people are so nice and it is such a beautiful place. Because it is a small island you can drive around and see so many things.

"You can go and see a volcano and a waterfall in the same day and then spend your evening watching the sunset on the beach.

"My day to day will start with walking the dogs on the beach, going to the gym and then tackling my to do list of jobs. I will make sure everything is running smoothly with the businesses, and will then create some TikTok videos which can take up a lot of my time.

"I enjoy my days as I know it won't last forever but I want to enjoy this life whilst I am young. Even just walking my dogs on the beach watching the waves is so special.

"I feel so lucky I have left my mouldy five bed student house for this"

"I create a lot of videos on Bali and what to expect and what to do. I also give a lot of information about how to be when you're here. It is so sad that so many people sadly die in accidents here, especially on motorbikes.

"Tourists are quite scary sometimes here, they will drive around drunk and get into accidents, it happens a lot. People don't realise that there is a lot of culture in Bali and that they can be quite disrespectful at times, so I try to raise awareness around this.

"It took me a while to get used to living here, even little things like not drinking the tap water. I will always tell people to bring a water filter with them if they are here, it makes life so much easier.

"It's nice to be able to be here and be able to work from here, I want to make the most of my 20's and enjoy them so I can get on with a serious career when I am older.

"I do miss the UK, especially the snacks, when my friends came to visit they brought me a care package full of British sweets and chocolate, you can't beat it.

"We are going back for Christmas which will be nice, I haven't seen my parents in two years, but they are happy for me with my life in Bali.

"Callum and I plan to leave Bali at the end of next year, I think we will move to Spain where I grew up, and I will go back into Law and start my training. Because I can speak fluent Spanish I would love to qualify in Spanish law too.

"I have a degree in Law and a Masters in International Human Rights Law too.

Read More on The Sun

Dad creates epic water slide for his kids in garden out of old decking

Got your council tax rebate as a bill discount? Here’s how to withdraw it in CASH

"I think lockdown has changed the way people work. I think being trapped and restricted made me a lot more grateful for life and want to get out there and travel.

"Working from home is the future and people need to know there's more to life than a nine to five."

    Source: Read Full Article